Distinguished Visitor Programme (DVP)


The Distinguished Visitor Programme was launched by the Singapore Mathematical Society in 1998. Through the visit of a distinguished mathematician/mathematics educator, who will interact with both mathematicians/mathematics educators at the universities as well as teachers and pupils at the schools here, the aim of the Programme is to expose as large and diverse an audience as possible to the excitement and relevance of mathematics, thereby enhance the awareness of mathematics in our society.

Current Programme

2019: Professor Michael Röckner

Distinguished Visitor
Professor Michael Röckner is the immediate past President of the German Mathematical Society (DMV). He received his doctorate from the University of Bielefeld. He became professor in Bonn in 1990 and in Bielefeld in 1994. He is the winner of the Max Planck Research Award 1992 and has been the Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics in Bielefeld.

Program (28 – 31 August, 2019)

28 August, 2:00 pm-3: 00 pm, Colloquium Talk 1: Solutions of SPDE as zeros of maps on scaled path spaces, NUS S17 04-04

29 August, 2.00-3.00 pm, Colloquium Talk 2: Nonlinear Fokker-Planck equations and distribution dependent SDE, NTU SPMS MAS EC1

30 August, 4.00-5.00 pm, Public Lecture, Finding Order in Disorder: Mathematics is Everywhere, NUS LT34

Past Years’ Programme

2017: Professor Professor Ron Aharoni

Professor Ron Aharoni is an Israeli mathematician, working in finite and infinite combinatorics.

2016: Professor Phillip A. Griffiths

Professor Phillip A. Griffiths is a Professor Emeritus in the School of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study. He was the Institute’s Director from 1991 to 2003 and previously Provost at Duke University.

2013: Professor Imre Leader

Imre Leader is a Professor of Pure Mathematics at the University of Cambridge. His research work has concentrated on Graph Theory and Combinatorics particularly in isoperimetric inequalities, extremal Combinatorics and Ramsey Theory.

2011: Professor Frank Morgan

Professor Frank Morgan is currently the Webster Atwell '21 Professor of Mathematics at the Williams College and Vice President of the American Mathematical Society. His research is on geometric measure theory and minimal surfaces.

2010: Professor Hung-Hsi Wu

Distinguished Visitor Professor Wu is Professor of Mathematics Emeritus at University of California, Berkeley. He received his doctorate degree from MIT in 1963 and his main research area is in differential geometry, having authored research papers, research papers as well…

2009: Professor Roger Howe

Distinguished Visitor Professor Roger E. Howe, member of the National Academy of Sciences, USA and fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and Professor of Mathematics at Yale University, is a scholar of distinction. Professor Howe's major research…

2006: Professor Alan Schoenfeld

University of California, Berkeley

2004: Professor Jack Cowan

University of Chicago

2002: Professor Jeremy Kilpatrick

University of Georgia

2001: Professor Wilfred Schmid

Harvard University

1999: Professor Jennifer Chayes